Tuesday, 21 August 2012

Sidney Chambers and The Shadow of Death By James Runcie

When mystery novels seem increasingly long and convoluted, it is refreshing to come across a book of shorter whodunits – such as you will find in James Runcie’s, ‘Sidney Chambers and The Shadow of Death’. Set in 1950s Cambridge, these six mysteries read like a cross between Agatha Christie, McCall Smith and Barbara Pym, full of philosophy, wit and terrific characters... Posted by JAM

"Sidney Chambers and The Shadow of Death" is the first of the "Grantchester Mysteries" - a projected series of six novels, to be published in May each year until 2017.

"Beginning in 1953, and ending in 1978, each volume contains six inter-connected stories that feature the clergyman-detective, Canon Sidney Chambers. Tall, with dark brown hair, eyes the colour of hazelnuts and a reassuringly gentle manner, Sidney can go where the police cannot. It's Father Brown with attitude, Agatha Christie with Cathedrals, and Barbara Pym with sex."  

See the author's website: www.jamesruncie.com  

Search our Catalogue and reserve online:

No comments:

Post a Comment