Hastings District Libraries

Friday, 30 December 2016

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

I really enjoyed this book… Well, most of it anyway.

It is beautifully written, and our lead is Madeline, who is best friends with her Mum (a Japanese-American Doctor), doesn’t remember her father (African-American) who died when she was a baby, oh and she has Severe Combined Immunodeficiency (SCID), meaning that she hasn’t left her house in years. The only people she gets to spend any time with in person are her Mum and her Nurse Carla. Madeline is allergic to the world, and might as well live in a bubble.

But then a new family moves in next door, and her growing friendship with the teenage boy Olly (thank God for instant messenger) leads her to question the way she’s lived her life. Is living longer really worth it if you’re not living your life fully? Should she risk her life if it means truly experiencing it?

This book is great for fans of authors like John Green or Jennifer Niven, and is definitely deserving of the hype surrounding it. However there is a pretty big error in one of the illustrations (if you’re anything like me it will bug you), and it has a surprise twist that I wasn’t too fond of, but it’s still a wonderfully written book that I couldn’t put down until I had finished.

Posted by Sas

Catalogue link: Everything, Everything

No comments:

Post a Comment